Skip to main content

IPL 2015: Kolkata Knight Riders team Preview

IPL 2015: Kolkata Knight Riders team Preview
IPL 2015, Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the strong team in Indian Premier League with lifting title 2 times and they are getting into 2015 season as Defending Champions. KC Carappa was interesting buy by them in auction purchased for 2.6 crores.

Star Players: Sunil Narine, Gautam Gambhir and Robin Utthappa

Batting: With opening pair in the form of Gambhir and Robin Uthappa Kolkata Knight riders will have a steady and safe start. After Jacques Kallis middle order is Shakely though there are big hitters like Yousuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschathe. Surya Kumar Yadav is emerged as good finisher for KKR.

Bowling: Sunil Narine is trump card for KKR and they won many matches with the help of Sunil Narine. Umesh Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav have shown good momentum for them in 2014 season. Andrew Russel and Shakib ul Hasan are needy all rounders for the teams in Shorter format and KKR is using them correctly. They want to repeat 2014 again with IPL 2015.

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained squad - Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Patrick Cummins, Piyush Chawla, Ryan ten Doeschate,  Umesh Yadav, Veer Pratap Singh, Yusuf Pathan

Purchased Players - Johan Botha (replacement for James Neesham), Brad Hogg, Aditya Garhwal, Sumit Narwal, KC Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Sheldon Jackson, Azhar Mahmood( replacement for Chris Lynn)

Team performance in previous seasons

Year stages position
 2008  Group Stage  6
 2009  Group Stage  8
 2010  Group Stage  6
 2011  Play offs  4
 2012  Champions  1
 2013  Group stage  7
 2014  Champions  1
KKR will play their 1st match against MI on April 8 in IPL 8.


Popular posts from this blog

Kieron Pollard leaves ODI, return to West Indies board

The West Indies team has been qualified for the World cup 2019. The team has been qualified for the ICC world Cup in the qualifiers round in 2018. Though losing to Afghanistan in the final, the team has made a space in the World Cup 2019.

On this take, Kieron Pollard has shared his excitement towards the team. Pollard said that he was delighted to see that the West Indies has been qualified for the World Cup 2019. While talking with the 30 year old, all rounder player Pollard that he is available to play one –day internationals for West Indies team. Well, he also said that he is unsure about the plans of the board for him in the 50 over format game.

Adding to the talks, Pollard said that he is disappointed that the team has to go through the qualifier test matches. It has made him some kind of disappointments but, he is happy that the boys of West Indies team have done a phenomenal job. The official statement was - Obviously, as a West Indian cricketer, it's disappointing that we…

Sangakkara to play for Surrey post cricket world cup 2015

Sri Lankan star Kumara Sangakkara is in fine touch with bat will play for Surrey for the upcoming county season soon after the completion of cricket world cup 2015. He is in excellent form in the recently concluded test series against New Zealand scoring double ton. He also crossed the record of Don Bradman for highest number of test hundreds in tests. "He is a perfect player and that is important because he will be working with our young players. He is the No 1 Test batsman in the world, it's the character that he has which is important to us," Surrey director, Alec Stewart said. Sangakkara has announced his retirement from ODI after the completion of cricket world cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.