Skip to main content

World Cup records: 9 for Dhoni and India, overtakes Kapil and Ganguly

MS Dhoni and team India
Photo Credits : BCCI

Cricket world cup 2015,India not only won against Ireland but registered some new world cup records for team India and captain Dhoni. Making to the quarters, India continues their winning streak. Dhoni tops with most no of wins for any Indian captain in world cup, Dhoni records for consecutive wins at world cup( won 5 in this wotrld cup and 4 in last world cup. Dhoni overtakes Ganguly for concesutive wins. India wants to break Australia and Poning record for most wins and most consecutive wins.

World cup records for Team India and Dhoni

1. Dhoni holds the record of most number of wins by Indian captain with 12 wins followed by Kapil Dev, Azharuddin and Ganguly.


Captain played won lost tie world cup
 MS Dhoni  14  12   1  1     2011 and 2015
 Kapil Dev  15  11   4  -     1983 and 1987
 Azharuddin  23  10   12  1     1992,96 and 1999
 Sourav Ganguly  11    9    2   -     2003
 Rahul Dravid   3   1    2

2. This is 9th consecutive win for Team India, Australia top at no 1 with 25 wins.


India opposition date Ground
 Won by 80 runs  West Indies  March 20,2011  Chennai
 Won by 5 wickets   Australia  March 24,2011  Ahmedabad
 Won by 29 runs   Pakistan  March 30,2011  Mohali
 Won by 6 wickets   Sri Lanka  April 2,2011  Mumbai
 Won by 76 runs   Pakistan  Feb 15,2015  Adelaide
 Won by 130 runs   South Africa  Feb 22,2015  MCG
 Won by 9 wickets   UAE  Feb 28,2015  Perth
 Won by 4 wickets   West Indies  March 6,2015  Perth
 Won by 8 wickets   Ireland  March 10,2015  Seddan Park

3. Dhoni at no.2 for most consecutive wins at world cup, beating Gaguly record of 8 wins. Ponting at top.

CaptainwonWorld cup
 Ricky Ponting 24 2003,2007,2011
 MS Dhoni 9 2011,2015
 Clive Lyold 9 1979 ans 1983
 Sourav Ganguly 8  2003

4. Shikhar Dhawan scored 8th ODI century.

 5. Rohit Sharma scored 25 ODI fifty


Popular posts from this blog