Wednesday, March 11, 2015

4 from Sangakkara, breaks 3 world cup records

Kumara Sangakkara Sri Lanka

Cricket world cup 2015,Sangakkara who was the first man to score 3 consecutive world cup centuries, has scored his 4th ton today vs Scotland. Sri Lanka veteran player breaked consecutive hundreds in ODI’s by scoring four centuries in the ongoing world cup and became the first player to achieve this, Sanga scored 105* against Bangladesh,117* against England,104 against Australia and latest but not the end 124 against Scotland in today match scored 4 consecutive hundred which is record in world cup and ODI history. Few batsmen like Herschele Gibbs,Quinton De Kock,Ross Taylor, AB De Villiers, Saeed Anwar and Zahir Abbas scored 3 back to back centuries in ODI’s. He also stands at 2nd place in most hundreds in world cup with Ricky Ponting with 5, Tendulkar tops with 6 centuries in world cup tournaments. He is the first players to score 4 hundreds in single world cup before this Mark Waugh,Sourav Ganguly, and Mathew Hayden scored 3 centuries each.

Records by Sangakkara at WC 

1. Sangakkara placed at No.2 in most number of hundreds in world cups with Ricky Ponting 5 centuries, Indian great Sachin Tendulkar continues at top with 6 tons.

Player Hundreds Matches highest score world cups
 Sachin Tendulkar          6    45          152   1992-2011
 Kumara Sangakkara          5    36          124    2003-15
 Ricky Ponting          5    46          140*    1996-2011 
 AB de Villiers          4     20          160*      2007-15
 Sourav Ganguly          4    21          183    1999-2007
 Steve Waugh          4    22          130    1992-1999

 2. Sangakkara holds the record of scoring 4 centuries in a row in world cups.

 3. He was the first man to score 4 hundreds in Single world cup.

Player Hundreds   world cup
 Kumara Sangakkara     4      2015   
 Mark Waugh     3      1996
 Sourav Ganguly     3      2003
 Mather Hayden     3       2007

 4. Sangakkara crossed 14000 runs in ODI’s in 378 innings. No other batsman other than Sachin Tendulkar has crossed it, who took 352 innings

 5.Sangakkara holds the record for scoring 4 successive centuries in ODI's. Herschele Gibbs(South Africa),Quinton De Kock(SA),Ross Taylor(New Zealand), AB De Villiers(RSA), Saeed Anwar(Pakistan) and Zahir Abbas( Pak) scored 3 centuries.

No comments:

Post a Comment