Monday, January 19, 2015

ICC has announced Knock out venues for Cricket World Cup 2015

Cricket Official board ICC on Monday announced the venue allocation criteria for the Cricket World Cup 2015 quarter-finals. According to Criteria if Cricket World Cup 2015 co-hosts Australia and New Zealand were to qualify from Pool A to quarter finals, then they will play their quarter-finals in Adelaide (Australia) and Wellington (New Zealand) on March 20 and 21. If from pool A, next two top teams in the list Sri Lanka and England were qualify for the quarters, Sri Lanka will play in Sydney cricket ground on March 18 and England will play in Melbourne cricket ground on March 19, irrespective of places they finish. If any of the above mentioned four teams failed then the qualified team will play there. The venues for top four from Pool B will be determined by their Pool A teams on the basis of their final positions in the group stage. For example, if defending champions India in position B1, they will play against the team that finishes last in Pool A. for Example, if Sri Lanka finish in A4 place then India will take on Sri Lanka in Sydney on March 18. For Semi finals, if co hosts Australia and New Zealand qualify, they will play at home ground if they will meet each other in semis. In this situation, the side that finished higher in Pool A will host the match. After the pool stage, the semi-final venues will be confirmed.

If both Australia and New Zealand fails to reach semi finals, the winner of the Wellington quarter-final will play its semi-final in Sydney cricket ground.

Quarter-final matches:
Quarter-final 1 - A1 v B4
Quarter-final 2 - A2 v B3
Quarter-final 3 - A3 v B2
Quarter-final 4 - A4 v B1

A1 means the top side in Pool A, while A4 means the side that finishes last (fourth) position in Pool
Quarter-final dates and venues:
Quarter final 1: On March 18 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Australia
Quarter final 2: On March 19 at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australia
Quarter final 3: On March 20 at Adelaide Oval ground, Australia
Quarter final 4: On March 21 at Wellington Stadium, New Zealand.

Semi-final matches:
Semi final 1: winners of Quarter Final 1 (A1 v B4) against winners of Quarter Final 3 (A3 v B2)
Semi final 2 - winner Quarter Final 2 (A2 v B3) against winners of Quarter Final 4 (A4 v B1)
Semi-final matches dates and venues:
Match 1: On March 24 at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand
Match 2: On March 26 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Australia
Cricket World Cup 2015 Final date and venue:
March 29 at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australia

No comments:

Post a Comment