Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Cricket World Cup 2015 England team preview

England have reached the World Cup finals three times in 1979, 1987 and 1992 but have never won the World Cup. Presently England is not doing well and lost ODI series against India at home and Sri Lanka recently.

Pool A
Peter Moores
Eoin Morgan (captain), James Anderson, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, Jos Buttler (wicket keeper), James Taylor, Ballance, Alex Hales, Tredwell, Chris Woakes ,Chris Jordan.
Middle and lower-order batting has helped England in many matches. Joe Root and Jos Buttler displayed their batting skills, but allrounder Moeen Ali as an opener and young James Taylor has strengthened England top order. James Anderson return and Stuart Broad experience will help the bowling department, while Chris Woakes' rise has been bowling consistently in recent matches.
England lost their experienced batsman Alastair cook who s in poor form, and they selected the young team for cricket world cup 2015. They are under pressure because of their losses in their recent series against India and Sri Lanka.
Team’s past experience and record in world cup:
England made it to the quarter-finals in India in world cup 2011. They made it to the final in 1979, 1987 and 1992
Group Fixtures
February 14: vs Australia,venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne ,Australia
February 20: vs New Zealand, venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
February 23: vs Scotland, venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch
March 1: vs Sri Lanka, venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand
March 9: vs Bangladesh, venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, Australia
March 13: vs Afghanistan, venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

No comments:

Post a Comment