Skip to main content

Sehwag and Gambir drops themselves out of selection for Deodhar trophy

Indian openers and Delhi Batsmen Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambir opts themselves out from the team selection of 15 members squad from North zone for the Deodhar trophy which starts on November 29. Both the batsmen who were not able to find place in the national team were still eager to play in the ICC cricket world cup 2015. "Today, at the start of the selection committee meeting, the chairman Vikram Rathour intimated us that Virender Sehwag has specifically told him that he doesn't want to play Deodhar Trophy and insisted that some of the promising juniors may be picked. Gautam Gambhir has followed Sehwag and decided against playing but I have no clue about why he pulled out," a member of the North Zone selection committee told PTI on Tuesday.Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan are the only two experienced players in the team.

North Zone Squad: Harbhajan Singh (Cap), Yuvraj Singh, Amit Mishra ,Unmukt Chand, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Milind Kumar, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan, Parveez Rasool, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma, Nakul verma (Wk), Taruwar Kohli, Vikas Tokas.


Popular posts from this blog

IPL 2015: Mumbai going strong

IPL 8 started, After the loss of three early wickets Mumbai Indians recovered well with Rohit Sharma stealing the show. Mumbai were 128/3 in 17.4 overs. Rohit Sharma scored 93 from 63 balls while New Zealand all rounder Corey Anderson giving goop support and scored 39 from 36 balls