Saturday, July 28, 2012

History Of IPL

IPL I – 2008:

The first season of IPL was started on 18 April, 2008 and was played for 46 days which consisted of 59 matches. It was played in double round robin and knock out format. Eight teams participated in the contest and Rajasthan Royals captained by Shane Warne won the title.

IPL II – 2009:

The second season of the IPL was played in South Africa due to security reasons as the general elections in India coincided with the IPL. So it was shifted to South Africa and was played in the same format as that of the first season and Deccan Chargers of Hyderabad captained by Adam Gilchrist won the title.

IPL III – 2010:

The third season of the IPL was played in India and Deccan Chargers did not play even a single match at home due to Telangana issues in the state. Chennai Super Kings which was captained by MS Dhoni won the title by defeating Mumbai Indians in the final match.

No comments:

Post a Comment