Skip to main content

Cricket World Cup History

The Cricket World Cup is an international championship of men’s ODI (One Day International) cricket organized by the International Cricket Council once in every four years.

World Cup 1975:

Going to the history of the Cricket World Cup, it was started in the year 1975 in England which was the only nation that was able to organize such event at that time. For the first three tournaments it was named Prudential Cup after the financial services company ‘Prudential plc’. The matches were played for 60 overs per team with players using traditional white uniforms and red balls. Eight teams participated in the first tournament comprising of the six test playing nations at that time: England, Australia, West Indies, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and a composite team from East Africa. West Indies won the first ever Cricket World Cup, defeating Australia with 17 runs in the final. The next two World Cups were held in 1979 and 1983 also hosted by England.

World Cup 1979:

It was for the 1979 World Cup, the Prudential Cup got replaced by the ICC Trophy for the first time and it was West Indies who again won the tournament defeating England by 92 runs in the final. In a meeting after the 1979 World Cup, the International Cricket Conference planned to make it a four-yearly event.

World Cup 1983:

The 1983 World Cup was again hosted by England which was their third consecutive time hosting a World Cup, India were the champions this time winning by 43 runs against West Indies in the final. Sri Lanka became a test playing nation, Zimbabwe qualified through the ICC Trophy in 1983.

World Cup 1987:

The 1987 Cricket World Cup was jointly hosted by India and Pakistan, it was the first ever world cup held outside England and the matches were played for 50 overs per innings because of shorter daylight compared to England. It is also the first time where West Indies could not reach the final. Australia were the champions this time defeating England by 7runs- the closest ever margin in the World Cup final history till date.

World Cup 1992:

The tournament has undergone many changes like white balls, colored clothing, alternation to field regulation and day/ night matches in the 1992 World Cup hosted by Australia and New Zealand. This was the first tournament in which South African cricket team participated after the end of international sports boycott. This time Pakistan, cited ‘Cornered Tigers’ at that time won the championship defeating England by 22runs in the final match at MCG, Australia.

World Cup 1996:

The 1996 World Cup was held again in the sub-continent in which Sri Lanka also was included for hosting the matches along with India and Pakistan. High drama took place before the start of the tournament, however the tournament took place and its Sri Lanka’s turn to lift up the World Cup defeating Australia by seven wickets in the final.

World Cup 1999:

England hosted the 1999 World Cup after sixteen years with some matches even hosted in Scotland, Netherlands and Ireland. Australia won the championship this time defeating Pakistan by eight wickets in the final, this was the champions second ICC World Cup and the second team next to West Indies to win a World Cup for the second time.

World Cup 2003:

The 2003 World Cup was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya. The number of participating teams got increased to 14 from 12 this time, India and Australia were the finalists of the tournament where Australia defeated India by a huge margin of 122runs in the final thus lifting the Cricket World Cup for the third time in the cricket history.

World Cup 2007:

The 2007 World Cup was hosted by the West Indies, the number of participating teams has increased to 16 this time with Ireland making their debut. The finalists were Sri Lanka and Australia where Australia defeated Sri Lanka in the final by a margin of 53 runs (D/L) method in farcical light conditions. This is Australia’s third consecutive World Cup and fourth on the whole. With this World Cup hosted by the West Indies, Cricket World Cup has became first such tournament to be hosted an all six populated continents Europe (1975, 1979, 1983, 1999); Asia (1987, 1996); Australia (1992); Africa (2003); North and South America (2007).

World Cup 2011:

The ICC cricket world cup 2011 was co-hosted by Asian countries India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh starting on February 19th and ending on April 2 in Eden Gardens. A total of 49 matches played and total 14 teams were participated in the tournament, which includes four associative teams in addition to full members. Two Asian teams India and Sri Lanka played in the final for the first time in which India lifted the world cup by 6 wickets in their home soil after 26 years. Yuvraj Singh was announced as match of the series and Dhoni was announced as man of the match.


Popular posts from this blog

World Cup 2019 ICC got their teams finalized

The ICC World Cup 2019 got their teams finalized. Couple of months away, 2019 is arriving and the ICC world cup association got their cricket teams for the season. ICC World Cup is the most awaited series by everyone, worldwide. Saying that, people are crazy for the ICC world cup matches would be an understatement. The teams have been finalized who will be taking part in the tournament.

Recently the ICC World cup qualifiers where on process and they confirmed the last two teams for the tournament. By the good rankings in 2017, total eight teams were qualified directly for the ICC world cup 2019 tournament. That was held in the 30 September 2017. The eight teams have earned the direct qualification for the ICC world cup and that has been good news for respective teams. The remaining teams were selected by the World cup qualifier match held in this year, 2018. The total teams who got direct entries are – “England, India, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Srilanka & Ba…

Star India bags the BCCI media rights for the next five years

Unlike the era before a decade, everything now is depended upon the media and news. In olden days there were few official news channels, through which the official news was regulated. There were only few channels and sources those days. But, now in this digital world the media has a huge power. Now, huge media and entertainment offices have taken place. Every single thing is viral through these media channels. Social media plays a huge role in the part of media and digital world. Everyone has got the power with these highly valued digital media channels.

Media plays a big role in the industries like entertainment and sports. These days everything has been covered by the media people just to telecast to the people as soon as possible. In cricket the media plays a big role. Before every match various media channels come to bid for getting selected as the media head for the matches. Recently we got the news that Star India has bagged the media rights for five years. Yes, this news is ver…