Skip to main content

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 [ Feb 19 - Apr 2, 2011]

The World Cup fever started among the people with only 140 days remaining for mega cricket event – ICC world 2011. This will be the tenth Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by the three cricket playing nations India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh together and this frist time Bangladesh is co-hosting a world cup. The last world cup in Asia held in 1996.

The world cup will start on February 19, 2011 and ends 2nd April, 2011. First match being played by the two co-hosts India and Bangladesh. There are 14 teams divided into two groups and 49 matches will be held in this 43 days mega event. India will be hosting twenty nine matches at eight venues which include New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Mohali, Nagpur, Ahmadabad and Bengaluru while Sri Lanka will be hosting twelve matches at three venues namely Kendy, Colombo and Hambantota. Bangladesh hosting the world cup will host eight matches at two venues – Dhaka and Chittagong. Fourteen teams got qualified for the worldcup 2011 in which ten teams were qualified by direct including Zimbabwe.

The official mascot for the 2011 cricket world cup is stumpy was announced on 2nd April, 2010 in Colombo. Stumpy is a ten year elephant who is young, determined and enthusiastic. Its name was officially released after an online competition conducted by the international cricket council. With each and every tournament the world cup grew as a media event as it will be watched by crores of people around the world. The ICC cricket world cup is the world’s fourth largest tournament and also the most viewed sporting event. The broadcasting rights of Cricket Worldcup2011 were bought up by ESPN Star Sports for around US$2 Billion which would be broadcasted in about 220 coutries.


Popular posts from this blog

Australia and Pakistan will be heading for tri-series in Zimbabwe

The official news from Zimbabwe Cricket has created a buzz in the media. On Tuesday, April 10, Zimbabwe cricket has announced the news of triangular T20 International series in July 2018. The match will be held among the teams Australia and Pakistan. Zimbabwe will host the T20 international triangular series against the Pakistan and Australia teams which will being in July 2018. This was the official news which Zimbabwe Cricket announced on Tuesday.

This international triangular series T20 would be the amazing matches. The matches will be held in Harare, which will begin in June and will follow by the finals in July. The match will have limited-over’s for the Australian team. In this tournament the Team of UK will play the first five ODIs. In the end there will a T20 international match against England. This T20 match will be held in the month of June in the second week. Later the match will be by a limited ODI series against Pakistan. The managing director of" Zimbabwe Cricket –…